NASPD & STIHL Award State Park Leadership School Scholarships


National Association of State Parks Directors (NASPD) Leadership School gathered students for an onsite learning forum at Oglebay Resort and Conference in Wheeling, W.Va., on Jan. 12-16, 2014.

The State Park Leadership School is a two-year certificate program that provides state park personnel with instruction from experienced state park directors through a combination of distance learning and onsite education.

Roger Phelps, from STIHL, Inc., along with NASPD awarded 13 $1,000 scholarships for participants to attend.

Winners are as follows:
  • Bruce Thompson, park ranger, R.I., 1st year
  • Ben D. Bergey, district supervisor, Wis., 2nd year
  • Edward A Hale, resource interpretive specialist, N.J., 1st year
  • Emily C. Rich, superintendent, N.J., 1st year
  • Leigh A. Germann, superintendent, N.J., 1st year 
  • Christopher Crabtree, national resource steward, Mo., 2nd year
  • Katy Holmer, assistant park superintendent, Mo., 1st year
  • Ale Echandi, specialist, trails operations, Mass., 1st year
  • Peter Hoffman, forest & park supervisor, Mass., 1st year
  • Eric Gregory, natural resources manager (park superintendent), Mo., 1st year
  • Joel Law, assistant park superintendent, Mo., 1st year
  • Lee Witbeck, interpretive resources coordinator, Mo., 2nd year
  • Tyler Schwartze, park operations planning coordinator, Mo., 2nd year