LAWRENCE, Kan. – The Sports Turf Managers Association and The Toro Company are honoring three students with the Dr. James R. Watson Legacy Scholarship.
The award is a special, one-time scholarship funded by The Toro Giving Program in celebration of the company’s Centennial this month as well as STMA’s SAFE Foundation, the philanthropic arm that enriches communities through championing safe, sustainable sports and recreation fields for all athletes. The grant honors longtime Toro agronomist, Dr. James Watson, who passed away Oct. 1, 2013.
The three winners are Kevin Hansen (Iowa State University/Ames, Iowa), Chrissie Segars (Oklahoma State University /McBee, South Carolina) and Andrew Wilhelm (Purdue University/Plainfield, Indiana). Each will receive a $2,000 scholarship from the SAFE Foundation.
Hansen, Segars and Wilhelm are each attaining a degree in sports turf management or comparable field of study. In addition to the cash award, they receive an all-expenses-paid trip to the Toro Sports Fields and Grounds Forum, held July 28-31, 2014, in Minneapolis.

(Visited 6 times, 1 visits today)