COBLESKILL, N.Y. – Since the inception of the New York State Turf and Grounds Exposition, the four-year (baccalaureate) traveling trophy has been held by SUNY Cobleskill, and this year is no different. The four-year team captured the trophy again at the annual competition held in Rochester, N.Y., last week. Team members include Sean Nolan, Josh Fontaine, Brodie Sherburne and Donny Cervantes.

The two-year (associates) trophy is also back in Cobleskill for the first time in six years, as the two-year team also won top honors. The winning team consists of Joshua Callan, Callahan Tyler, Ryan Whitaker and Greg Hunkins.

SUNY Cobleskill students also excelled in the individual competitions, with Chris Duffy taking first place and Brodie Sherburne taking second in the four-year division. Josh Callan placed third in the two-year competition.

Scholarships were awarded to four SUNY Cobleskill students. The Stephen V. Moffitt III Scholarship for $1000 was awarded to Josh Fontaine. Sean Nolan was awarded the Hahn Memorial Scholarship, also $1000. Both Brian Kelly and Brian Weltz were awarded New York State Turfgrass Association Scholarships for $400 each.