Association News


NERTF Elects New Officers

The New England Regional Turfgrass Foundation announced that Michael A. Buras has been elected as the 14th president for 2010-2011. He is head grounds superintendent at Longwood Cricket Club, Chestnut Hill, Mass., and has served on the NERTF board of directors since 2005. Robert A. Matthews will continue to serve as immediate past president, and Christopher Cowan will serve as vice president. Roderick W. Blake will serve as treasurer for a second year, and Scott Cybulski will serve as secretary for the next two years.

Other board members include John Clark, James H. Connelly, Anthony Grosso, James Hodge, Ted Maddocks, Steve Mann, William Morton, Philip Neaton, Mark Richard, Robert Ruzala and Michael Stachowicz. Mary Owen and Dr. Noel Jackson serve in an advisory capacity.

ASLA Announces Landmark Award Winner

The American Society of Landscape Architects and the National Trust for Historic Preservation announced New York City’s Bryant Park as the winner of the 2010 Landmark Award. The award recognizes a project’s design excellence, longevity and contribution to the public realm. Led by Laurie Olin, the 1992 redesign of Bryant Park transformed the formerly derelict space into a model of urban sustainability.

OPEI Takes on Management of OPEAA

The Outdoor Power Equipment Institute announced that it has taken on the management of the Outdoor Power Equipment Aftermarket Association. While still maintaining separate identities, OPEI will manage activity related to OPEAA annual meetings, board meetings, trade shows and communications. In addition, OPEAA will be privy to policy and legislative updates as they become known to OPEI.