NLA Presents Awards, Schedules Trade Show

The Nevada Landscape Association presented its Trophy Awards, which encourage interest in landscaping, recognize craftsmen who produce outstanding landscapes and create pride in superior workmanship. Award categories included residential renovation/installation, maintenance, water features, hardscaping and landscape lighting, and honorees were Outdoor Environments of Nevada; Peri Landscape Construction; Signature Landscapes; Merritt Landscapes, Inc.; Reno Green Landscaping, Inc.; Reno Lawn & Landscape; Mountain Scapes, Inc.; and Greenhouse Garden Center. Other awards included the President’s Award, Outdoor Environments of Nevada; NLA Environmental Award, Greenhouse Garden Center; Tony Armstrong Humanitarian Award, Western Nevada Supply; Education Award, Leslie Allen, UNR Cooperative Extension, and Steve Churchillo, Reno Urban Forestry Commission; Ambassador Award, Debra Rae Drew, NLA executive director; and Lifetime Achievement Award, Harry Fahnestock, Western Turf.

“Green Before Green Was Cool” is the theme for the 19th annual NLA trade show and conference, scheduled for February 17 at the Grand Sierra Resort, Reno, Nev. The University of Nevada Cooperative Extension and the Reno Urban Forestry Commission will co-sponsor the trade show. The education conference will feature five conference tracks with 30 seminar opportunities.

The Irrigation Association’s new logo.

IA Unveils New Brand Identity

The Irrigation Association unveiled a new logo and tagline during the 2008 Irrigation Show. The redesigned brand is part of IA’s strategic plan to become the recognized authority on irrigation. The new logo communicates the link between irrigation and making things grow, while the tagline conveys IA’s mission and its members’ commitment to better water management.

NTF Board Meets on Capitol Hill

The board of directors of the National Turfgrass Federation met in Washington, D.C., with federal officials and congressional staff to discuss many items of interest to the turfgrass industry. Representing the industry in the discussions were Mike Kenna, U.S. Golf Association; Clark Throssell, Golf Course Superintendents Association of America; Brian Horgan, University of Minnesota; Tom Delaney, Professional Landcare Network; Kirk Hunter, Turfgrass Producers International; Kris Kiser, Outdoor Power Equipment Institute; John Farner, Irrigation Association; Bill Behan and Mark Schmidt, John Deere; and Kevin Morris, NTF. Topics discussed included the Specialty Crops Research Initiative, national turfgrass survey, National Turfgrass Research Initiative and EPA WaterSense draft specifications for new home construction.

EPIC Joins Growth Energy

The Ethanol Promotion & Information Council has joined Growth Energy, a newly formed organization dedicated to the promise of agriculture and growing America’s economy through cleaner, greener energy. The mission of EPIC’s platform—growing ethanol awareness through public relations, marketing and promotions—will continue as a core platform of Growth Energy’s initiatives.

HRI Presents Scholarships

The Horticultural Research Institute, the research division of the American Nursery & Landscape Association, has awarded a number of scholarships. Amanda Rosa received the 2008 Usrey Family Memorial Scholarship of $1,500. A senior at California Polytechnic State University, Rosa is majoring in environmental horticulture science. The 2008 Carville M. Akehurst Memorial Scholarship of $4,000 was awarded to Gerrit Shuffstall. He is a full-time graduate student studying landscape architecture at Morgan State University. Kathryn Sanford is the recipient of the 2008 Muggets Scholarship of $1,500. HRI presented the 2008 Timothy S. and Palmer W. Bigelow Jr. Scholarship of $2,500 to Kayla Harrison. She is a senior horticultural student at the University of Rhode Island. Ryan N. Contreras received the 2008 Spring Meadow Scholarship of $2,500. Contreras is studying horticulture as a graduate student at the University of Georgia.

Does your organization or association have news to share with our readers? E-mail us at and we’ll include it in an upcoming issue of Turf.

Interiorscape Industry Coalition Convenes

An interiorscape industry summit was convened in Atlanta, Ga., initiated and attended by the Professional Landcare Network’s interior specialty group chair, Chris Raimondi, and moderated by Terry Anderson, National Interiorscape Network. The group of attendees named itself the Interiorscape Industry Coalition and defined its mission of increasing interiorscaping industry awareness and raising industry professionalism.

Project EverGreen Releases 2009 Calendar

Project EverGreen has released its third annual Because Green Matters calendar. Photos for the calendar come from submissions to the Project EverGreen calendar photography contest. The calendar is sponsored by the Professional Grounds Management Society, Outdoor Power Equipment Institute, Tree Care Industry Association, Turfgrass Producers International, Golf Course Superintendents Association of America, Professional Landcare Network, Irrigation Association, Sports Turf Managers Association, the city of Akron, Sticks for Kids, Turf & Ornamental Communicators Association and Christmas SPIRIT Foundation. It is being sold as a fundraiser to benefit Project EverGreen’s educational programs and is available by calling 877-758-4835. More information can be found at

Snow Warrior Award Applications Available

The Snow & Ice Management Association announced that application packets are now available for the 2009 Snow Warrior Awards. The awards will be presented at the 12th Annual Snow & Ice Symposium. The Excellence in Business Award is given to a company that has demonstrated success in business practices, customer satisfaction, community relations and accountability. The Employee of the Year Award is presented to an individual for displaying excellence at work, providing leadership and standing as an example for the industry. Safety Awards are given to companies that have demonstrated exceptional safety procedures and execution throughout the year. The deadline for Excellence in Business and Employee of the Year submissions is March 15, and the deadline for Safety Award submissions is May 1. For more information or to apply, call 414-375-1940 or visit