Association News


Project EverGreen Releases 2009 Calendar

Project EverGreen has released its third annual Because Green Matters calendar. Photos for the calendar come from submissions to the Project EverGreen calendar photography contest. The calendar is sponsored by the Professional Grounds Management Society, Outdoor Power Equipment Institute, Tree Care Industry Association, Turfgrass Producers International, Golf Course Superintendents Association of America, Professional Landcare Network, Irrigation Association, Sports Turf Managers Association, the city of Akron, Sticks for Kids, Turf & Ornamental Communicators Association and Christmas SPIRIT Foundation. It is being sold as a fundraiser to benefit Project EverGreen’s educational programs and is available by calling 877-758-4835. More information can be found at

NTF Board Meets on Capitol Hill

The board of directors of the National Turfgrass Federation met in Washington, D.C., with federal officials and congressional staff to discuss many items of interest to the turfgrass industry. Representing the industry in the discussions were Mike Kenna, U.S. Golf Association; Clark Throssell, Golf Course Superintendents Association of America; Brian Horgan, University of Minnesota; Tom Delaney, Professional Landcare Network; Kirk Hunter, Turfgrass Producers International; Kris Kiser, Outdoor Power Equipment Institute; John Farner, Irrigation Association; Bill Behan and Mark Schmidt, John Deere; and Kevin Morris, NTF. Topics discussed included the Specialty Crops Research Initiative, national turfgrass survey, National Turfgrass Research Initiative and EPA WaterSense draft specifications for new home construction.

EPIC Joins Growth Energy

The Ethanol Promotion & Information Council has joined Growth Energy, a newly formed organization dedicated to the promise of agriculture and growing America’s economy through cleaner, greener energy. The mission of EPIC’s platform—growing ethanol awareness through public relations, marketing and promotions—will continue as a core platform of Growth Energy’s initiatives.

ASLA Announces Call for Award Entries

The American Society of Landscape Architects announced the call for entries for its 2009 professional and student awards program. Mark Rios, Rios Clementi Hale Studios, Los Angeles, Calif., will chair the professional awards jury, and Warren T. Byrd Jr., Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects, Charlottesville, Va., will chair the student awards jury. The awards program features six categories: general design; residential design; analysis and planning; research; communications; and the Landmark Award. The student awards program also features the Student Community Service Award and Student Collaboration categories. Visit for more information.

Interiorscape Industry Coalition Convenes

An interiorscape industry summit was convened in Atlanta, Ga., initiated and attended by the Professional Landcare Network’s interior specialty group chair, Chris Raimondi, and moderated by Terry Anderson, National Interiorscape Network. The group of attendees named itself the Interiorscape Industry Coalition and defined its mission of increasing interiorscaping industry awareness and raising industry professionalism.

SCPA Presents Awards, Elects Officers

The Southern Crop Production Association presented awards and elected officers at its 54th annual meeting, held in Charleston, S.C. Fred Worthington, executive vice president of Cardinal Chemicals, Inc., received the William C. Larue Award, given to an SCPA member for outstanding service to SCPA and the crop protection industry. Worthington has served on the board of directors for the past 12 years, and served as president, vice president and secretary/treasurer. The Don W. Beise Award for service to the industry by a person outside the association went to Tom Hunt, executive director, Crop Protection Association of North Carolina.

SCPA elected its officers, including President Pete Irwin, Vice President Joe Will, Secretary/Treasurer Jeff Cassady, Past President Fred Worthington and Executive Vice President Edgar W. Duskin. The following were elected or are continuing to serve as directors: Spencer Black, Michael Boden, James T. Witchard, Jerry Hulbert, Rad Page, Glenn Luedke, Jerry Miller, Charles Morris, Jason Nelson, Dennis Pfeiffer, Doug Register, Butch Rodgers, Louis Rodrigue, Beth Sears, Gerald Simmons and Steve Williams.

Snow Warrior Award Applications Available

The Snow & Ice Management Association announced that application packets are now available for the 2009 Snow Warrior Awards. The awards will be presented at the 12th Annual Snow & Ice Symposium. The Excellence in Business Award is given to a company that has demonstrated success in business practices, customer satisfaction, community relations and accountability. The Employee of the Year Award is presented to an individual for displaying excellence at work, providing leadership and standing as an example for the industry. Safety Awards are given to companies that have demonstrated exceptional safety procedures and execution throughout the year. The deadline for Excellence in Business and Employee of the Year submissions is March 15, and the deadline for Safety Award submissions is May 1. For more information or to apply, call 414-375-1940 or visit

HRI Presents Scholarships

The Horticultural Research Institute, the research division of the American Nursery & Landscape Association, has awarded a number of scholarships. Amanda Rosa received the 2008 Usrey Family Memorial Scholarship of $1,500. A senior at California Polytechnic State University, Rosa is majoring in environmental horticulture science. The 2008 Carville M. Akehurst Memorial Scholarship of $4,000 was awarded to Gerrit Shuffstall. He is a full-time graduate student studying landscape architecture at Morgan State University. Kathryn Sanford is the recipient of the 2008 Muggets Scholarship of $1,500. HRI presented the 2008 Timothy S. and Palmer W. Bigelow Jr. Scholarship of $2,500 to Kayla Harrison. She is a senior horticultural student at the University of Rhode Island. Ryan N. Contreras received the 2008 Spring Meadow Scholarship of $2,500. Contreras is studying horticulture as a graduate student at the University of Georgia.

Landscape Ontario Launches Green for Life

Landscape Ontario has introduced its “Green for Life” program to help raise awareness of the beneficial effects of green spaces. Outreach will include a new consumer Web site, set to launch in spring 2009. It will showcase hundreds of award-winning member designs. The new program also includes signs for landscape contractors’ trucks, store signs and banners, and public relations activities.

IA Unveils New Brand Identity

The Irrigation Association unveiled a new logo and tagline during the 2008 Irrigation Show. The redesigned brand is part of IA’s strategic plan to become the recognized authority on irrigation. The new logo communicates the link between irrigation and making things grow, while the tagline conveys IA’s mission and its members’ commitment to better water management.